In memory of Dr. Charles C. Ryrie (1925-2016)

ryrieToday, early in the morning, I received the sad news about the passing away at the age of 90 (almost 91), of one of my favorite Christian expositors, theologians, and authors: Dr. Charles C. Ryrie.

The first book written by Ryrie I read was the very well-known Ryrie study Bible, one in Spanish. It was with the occasion of my baptism, back to 1995, that my father bought one form me. There is no better gift that a father can give to his son than a study Bible. I love that Bible, and I consider it as the best study Bible because of the quality of Dr. Ryrie notes.

Latter in my life I had the opportunity of buying Basic Theology, Theology of the New Testament, Balancing the Christian life, and some other books coauthored by Dr. Ryrie. One of my professors and point of reference in Biblical studies in Spain, Dr. Evis Luis Carballosa, was one of the students who had the blessing of learning under the instruction of Dr. Ryrie during his extensive experience as a prominent professor at Dallas Theological Seminary. Dr. Carballosa uses to share some of the advices Dr. Ryrie used to say to his students. One that remains in my memory is, “do not turn into difficult something that is so simple” regarding Biblical interpretation and exposition.

I think these words summarize the essence of Dr. Ryrie career as an expositor, theologian, professor, and Christian. His writings are deep in content and at the same way accessible to every reader. He had the ability to transmit deep truths in a way that anybody can understand.

I think the Christian world, and even the non-Christian world, owe a huge thanks to Dr. Charles C. Ryrie for his outstanding commitment to the study of the Bible and to its exposition. Thank you Dr. Ryrie.

“And I saw, and behold, a white cloud; and on the cloud I saw one sitting like unto a son of man, having on his head a golden crown, and in his hand sharp sickle.” Revelation 14:13 (ASV).

Leave a Reply

