Ruminations on the Words We Use for the Strangers Among Us: Alien, Illegal and Refugee

BUA Faculty Blog

By Jesus Romero

La versión en español  está disponible al final de este documento

For the past six years, I have been involved in loving and serving immigrants through the work of the Immigration Service and Aid Center (ISAAC), a ministry of Texas Baptists. Being a first-generation immigrant, it is not difficult for me to seek to serve the strangers among us. I am grateful for my adoptive country and very mindful of how God has bestowed his blessings upon my family and me in a land that is not my own by birth.
My mandate as director of ISAAC is very simple: I must encourage the Body of Christ to reach out to immigrants through the love and grace of Jesus Christ.
In encouraging Texas Baptists to love and serve this vulnerable community, I find many challenges. Some in the church have a hard time, either due to fear…

View original post 1,861 more words

Leave a Reply

